National Novel Writing Month now a sham

Writing 50000 words in 30 days is always a challenge. NaNoWriMo, the National Novel Writing Month, was dynamic and fun, and for three years I, like tens of thousands of other writers, took part in the fun contest.
Then along came a new CEO, and new staff, and suddenly it was no longer about writing, but about money. Every communication from NaNoWriMo was accompanied by a plea for donations. Every page or posting, or e-mail, begged for donations. Even the reply from the CEO when I complained, had a plea for a donation attached. I threatened to withdraw if the donations persisted. They took no notice. So I have resigned. It is now a sham.
So come November, I’ll still try to write 50000 words in 30 days, but it’ll be my own challenge. Why not join me?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

